What you need for a cool desktop…!

First and foremost : choose an operating system. I chose ubuntu. So u will have to do that too coz u r reading my guide. Ubuntu is flexible than many other i have seen. So here goes.

To get the cool look on your ubuntu, some packages are to be installed.

For this goto System –> Administration –>Synaptic Package Manager.

Click on the search button and search for the each of the following packages.

awn-core-applets-bzr
awn-manager-bzr
compizconfig-settings-manager
emerald
fusion-icon

Click on the package and select mark for installation. Click apply to complete installation.

Now we have everything we need for style. All you need now is creativity.

Let us start…

Goto Applications –> System Tools –> Compiz Fusion Icon

Right click on the fusion icon and select window manager as compiz. Select window decorator as emerald. You can quit the application now if you want to.

Now we can go for the desktop cube. For that we need 4 desktops. Right click on the desktop switcher applet on your panel(the bottom one most probably) and set the no of desktops to be4.

Now goto System –> Preferences –> Advanced Desktop Effects (Compizconfig Settings Manager or something similiar)

Check the desktop cube option. If a popup occurs click ‘disable Desktop wall’. Also check the rotate cube, Expo and 3D windows option. Now do  Ctrl+Alt+Click and drag. Now click on the desktop cube option and the transparent cube tab. Change the ‘opacity during rotation’ to near 60. Check out the other options too. Try the key bindings to know the keyboard shortcuts.

Water Effect, Paint fire on screen, Wobbly Windows etc are pleasing effects.
Under Window management, try using the Application switcher, Shift Switcher and ring switcher.

Now to give special effects to windows. Select animations under effects. The first tab ‘close animation’ describes how the window closes. Select the first option and click edit. Change the close animation and click close. Now try opening a window and closing it. Check out other animations too.

Now for the dock. Right click on your bottom panel and delete it. Now select Applications –> Accessories –> Avant Window Navigator. Customize the dock by right click –> preferences.

To change your titlebar theme System –> Preferences –> Emerald theme manager.

You can resize the desktop icons as you wish. Try right clicking on the icons.

You can find really cool themes at http://gnome-look.org/

Here are some of my desktop screenshots

19 Responses to “What you need for a cool desktop…!”


  1. 2 Nidu April 22, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    Wow! great screenshots. Very informative post. I can’t wait to try it out.

  2. 3 Woodland Hill movers January 3, 2013 at 8:14 pm

    all the time i used to read smaller articles or reviews which also clear
    their motive, and that is also happening with this piece of writing which I am reading here.

  3. 4 garage door repair in dallas January 12, 2013 at 8:12 pm

    I’m impressed, I have to admit. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s both equally educative and engaging,
    and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head.
    The issue is something that not enough men and women are speaking intelligently about.
    Now i’m very happy I came across this in my search for something regarding this.

  4. 5 paleolithic nutrition or diet January 22, 2013 at 3:19 am

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  5. 6 ultrasound technician schools In lancaster pa January 22, 2013 at 5:49 am

    I have been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles
    or blog posts in this sort of space . Exploring in Yahoo I finally stumbled upon this website.
    Studying this information So i am satisfied to show that I’ve an incredibly excellent uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what I needed. I so much indisputably will make certain to don?t overlook this site and provides it a glance on a constant basis.

  6. 7 Camilla March 4, 2013 at 6:19 pm

    I like the helpful information you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here frequently. I am quite sure I’ll
    learn plenty of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

  7. 8 Finanzberatung Mainz March 5, 2013 at 12:07 am

    Good day! I just would like to give you a huge thumbs up for the great info you have got
    right here on this post. I will be returning to your web site for more soon.

  8. 9 collagen March 21, 2013 at 7:05 am

    I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here.
    The sketch is attractive, your authored subject matter stylish.
    nonetheless, you command get got an nervousness over that you wish be
    delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come
    more formerly again since exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this hike.

  9. 10 Garage spring repair May 18, 2013 at 11:07 pm

    I’ve been surfing on-line more than 3 hours today, yet I by no means found any interesting article like yours. It’s lovely value
    enough for me. In my view, if all web owners and bloggers made just right content material as you
    did, the web shall be a lot more useful than ever before.

  10. 11 appliance repair company June 13, 2013 at 3:10 pm

    I am new to building websites and I was wondering if having your site title relevant to
    your articles and other content really that crucial?
    I see your title, “What you need for a cool desktop! | Free as in freedom…not as in free beer… ” does appear
    to be spot on with what your website is about but, I prefer to
    keep my title less content descriptive and based
    more around site branding. Would you think this is a
    good idea or bad idea? Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

  11. 12 emergency appliance repairs June 15, 2013 at 4:24 pm

    When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment
    is added I get several emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service?
    Bless you!

  12. 13 skypark ec June 24, 2013 at 6:19 pm

    You really make it seem so easy with your presentation
    but I find this matter to be actually something that I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me. I am looking forward
    for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

  13. 14 http://www.getjealous.com/as-las-vegas-home-journal June 26, 2013 at 12:51 am

    Outstanding post however , I was wanting to know if you could write a
    litte more on this topic? I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Bless you!

  14. 15 buying investment property July 22, 2013 at 9:27 pm

    Have you ever thought about adding a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is valuable and all. However just imagine if
    you added some great photos or video clips to give
    your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics
    and clips, this website could certainly be one of the best
    in its niche. Superb blog!

  15. 16 Scheidungsanwalt October 4, 2014 at 3:44 am

    This piece of writing will assist the internet visitors for setting
    up new webpage or even a weblog from start to end.

  16. 17 link October 9, 2014 at 11:26 am

    I’m amazed, I have to admit. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s both educative and amusing, and without a doubt, you have hit
    the nail on the head. The issue is an issue that
    not enough men and women are speaking intelligently
    about. I’m very happy that I stumbled across
    this during my hunt for something relating to this.


  1. 1 2010 in review « Free as in freedom…not as in free beer… Trackback on January 3, 2011 at 8:53 pm
  2. 2 2010 in review « Free as in freedom…not as in free beer… Trackback on January 3, 2011 at 8:53 pm

Leave a Reply

My Rants :

Blog Stats

  • 29,584 hits

Ad

Pages

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

