some really cool firefox addons…

I haven’t been using firefox for long. In fact i started using it when i got the version 3beta5 along with ubuntu 8.04 & within no time firefox had a new admirer. To be exact never used IE again even when i used windows(I work on ubuntu almost 99% of my time). Oh! not really. I used it while browsing from some internet cafes. But only to download & install the latest version of firefox.

The tabbed browsing feature of firefox was what attracted me 1st. I dont think there is any  need to mention its advantage here. IE7 has already adopted this feature. The general interface was cool fulfilling all the needs of a normal browser. It had a search a search box which supported a no. of search engines. I had no problems with the beta version. But like many i waited for the official release of firefox3.

It created a lot of public interest prior to its release. The media was giving out reviews of firefox and i dont think i missed even one. It was then that i came to know about the best and coolest feature of firefox. Addons. There are many who fail to see why addons matter this much. I think i can explain it in a single sentence. It gives firefox infinite features. i.e you can customize firefox the way you want i to be.

You can find out all firefox supported addons at https://addons.mozilla.org/

I have listed some of the addons which I found intersting.

  1. DownThemAll : A superb download manager and accelerator that works within firefox. It can pause and continue downloads. The advanced accelerator increases the speed upto 400%. It has options to download all the links form a page or all the links pointing to a certain extension.
  2. Video DownloadHelper : Download youtube and other embedded videos without any external software. It even converts the flv files to avi for you. A really useful addon for youtube freaks.
  3. Gmail Notifier : A gmail checker that resides in the bottom right corner of your firefox window. Checks for new mail every x minutes(you specify the x). Capable of managing more than one account. Ideal for those who keep their gmail inbox always open in a background tab.
  4. gTalk Sidebar : well….. the name says it all. Simple but cool.
  5. New Tab Button on Tab Right : A new tab button. no more boasting IE7 has a new tab button and it is easy to use.
  6. Tab Renamizer : Rename all background tabs with a simple ctrl+shift+z. People usually find different uses for this.
  7. Tab Wheel Scroll : Switch tabs by scrolling ure mouse wheel.
  8. Google Notebooks : Take notes on-the-go. Uploads notes to your google notebook account. Google service. Requires a google account.
  9. Speed Dial : For opera fans. Thumbnails of selected sites in a new tab. Get direct access to favorite sites.
  10. Extended Status Bar : Another opera like service. A great addon. Displays details about current page like size, no. of images etc. Can be used as a replacement or along with the firefox status bar.
  11. Pacman : Play pacman.

These are just some which i found out. Ill update this when i find out something exciting.

Please let me know if you know any good addons.

10 Responses to “some really cool firefox addons…”


  1. 1 Pure Raspberry Ketone August 4, 2012 at 12:51 am

    Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve visited this blog before but after looking at many of the posts I realized it’s new to
    me. Anyways, I’m definitely pleased I came across it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back frequently!

  2. 2 pure green coffee bean plus dr oz July 15, 2014 at 12:23 pm

    Great bet ! I would like to apprentice while
    you amend your weeb site, how can i subscribe for a blog
    web site? The account helped me a acceptable deal.
    I had bee tinmy bit acquainted of this your
    broadcast provided bright clear concept

  3. 3 lpg cellulite treatment london August 6, 2014 at 2:22 am

    This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger.

    I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post.
    Also, I have shared your web site in my social networks!

  4. 4 hazelton drug rehab August 20, 2014 at 5:20 am

    Hey! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group?
    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really enjoy your content.
    Please let me know. Thank you

  5. 5 lovely August 20, 2014 at 6:21 pm

    If some one wishes expert view on the topic of blogging afterward
    i propose him/her to pay a quick visit this web site,
    Keep up the pleasant work.

  6. 6 Connecticut how to detox from alcohol August 21, 2014 at 6:21 am

    I think everything posted was very logical. But, consider this,
    what if you were to write a killer title? I am not suggesting your
    content isn’t solid, but suppose you added a post
    title that makes people want more? I mean some really
    cool firefox addons… | Free as in freedom…not as in free beer…
    is a little plain. You ought to look at Yahoo’s home page and note how they create
    post headlines to grab viewers interested.
    You might add a related video or a related pic or two to get people interested
    about everything’ve got to say. In my opinion, it could bring
    your posts a little bit more interesting.

  7. 7 drug rehab scholarships August 21, 2014 at 8:33 pm

    It’s remarkable in support of me to have a web site,
    which is valuable in support of my know-how. thanks admin

  8. 8 Hawaii best alcohol rehab August 22, 2014 at 9:11 pm

    If you would like to improve your knowledge only keep visiting this web
    site and be updated with the most up-to-date news posted here.

  9. 9 Our Masters Camps Videos August 24, 2014 at 8:25 am

    Hello there! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from an established blog.

    Is it tough to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast.
    I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where
    to begin. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? With thanks


  1. 1 My little caravan craft workshops for children and teens Huntingdale Trackback on March 14, 2015 at 9:57 am

Leave a comment




Blog Stats

  • 30,949 hits

Ad

Pages

August 2008
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31